Voters' Lists 1818 and 1826

From 1692 returning officers at elections were required, on demand, and for a fee, to compile for any member of the public, a return of voters and how they voted. The electorate was small, but the measure was enacted in response to complaints of irregularity or bias in the returning officer's conduct of the poll. Later this requirement developed into a commercial venture, with copies available for anyone to purchase. This continued until 1868. Polling was in public up to 1872 but thereafter ballots were cast in secret.

The right to vote was limited to males who met a property qualification. From 1762, those entitled to elect Knights of the Shire (as Members of Parliament were then known) had to possess freehold property yielding 40 shillings or more per annum. Qualification was based on Land Tax assessments and the swearing of a freeholder's oath. From 1832 electoral registers were kept and made available for inspection. These registers with their lists, assessments and rolls serve as census forms for those males eligible to vote in Westmorland elections. They confirm electors' place of residence, which was not always where they held their qualifying property.

Not all polls were published and not all published polls were inspected by the Levens Local History Group. The following lists of those voters with Levens addresses, as detailed in the relevant Poll Book for a stated year has been extracted.

1818

The Poll for the Knights of the Shire to Represent the County of Westmorland taken at Appleby by Thomas Briggs, Esquire, Under Sheriff, on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, the 30th June and 1st, 2nd, and 3rd of July 1818

Printed and sold by R Lough, Finkle Street, Sold also by B. Bowson, Kendal, F. Jollie, Jun, 36, Lombard Street, London, and by the agents of the Kendal Chronicle.

Westmorland Election

The Earl of Thanet, hereditary High Sheriff of Westmorland

The Candidates

The Right Hon. William Lowther, commonly called Lord Viscount Lowther [L]; Nominated by Edward Hassell Esq., of Dalemain, and seconded by Christopher Wilson Esq., of Abbott Hall.

Colonel Lowther [CL], nominated by William Wilson Carus Wilson Esq., of Casterton and seconded by Thomas Holme Maude Esq., of Kendal.

Henry Brougham Esq. [B], nominated by Thomas Wybergh Esq., of Issell Hall and seconded by John Wakefield Esq., of Kendal.

In Crosthwaite & Lyth

Robert Harrison of Levens – voting for L and CL Robert Philipson of Beathwaite Green – voting B

In Kendal

Wills Wilkinson of Low Sizergh – B

In Levens, Beathwaite Green, part of Brigsteer and Sizergh Fellside

John Addison of Beathwaite Green – B

William Addison ditto - B

Richard Benson ditto – L and CL

Stephen Benson ditto – L and CL

William Bowness Esq Whitbarrow Lodge – L and CL

Joshua Brockbank Over Staveley - L and CL

Christopher Garnett Low Sizergh – L and B

Abram Garnett Beathwaite Green – B

George Gibson ditto - B

John Langhorn Hullart Hall – L and CL

John Mackereth Brigsteer – B

George Penny Levens – B

Christopher Philipson Beathwaite Green – B

John Spooner ditto – B

Thomas Stainton ditto – B

Edward Suart Leasgill - B

Richard Taylor Beathwaite Green – B

William Taylor Sizergh Fell Side – B

Stephen Washington, Sen Beathwaite Green – B

Stephen Washington, Jun ditto – B

Richard Walker Crook - B

Henry Watson Levens – B

Thomas Wilkinson Lancaster – B

Stephen Wilkinson Beathwaite Green – B

John Wilson ditto – B

John Whinskell Levens – L and CL

John Whinskell, Jun Sampool – B

1826

The poll for Knights of the Shire to represent the county of Westmoreland was taken at Appleby on successive days between Thursday 22 June and Saturday 1 July (excluding the Sunday) 1826.

The return was printed and sold by Richard Lough, All Hallows Lane, and sold also by M and R Branthwaite, T Richardson, and Messrs Hudson & Nicholson, Kendal, and by the agents of the Kendal Chronicle.

Candidates

The candidates are not listed but appear to be the same as in 1818, namely;

The Right Hon. William Lowther, commonly called Lord Viscount Lowther [L]; Colonel Lowther [CL], Henry Brougham Esq.[B],

In Crosthwaite & Lyth

William Walker Levens – voting for L and CL

In Grayrigg

William Dent Levens - L and B

In Levens, Beathwaite Green, part of Brigsteer and Sizergh Fellside

William Addison of Levens - B

William Addison Beathwaite Green - L and CL

Robert Addison ditto – B

Robert Addison London – L and CL

Christopher Beverley London – B

Harry Bolton Colne - B

Richard Benson Levens – L and CL

Thomas Bathgate Sedgwick - L and CL

John Bare Beathwaite Green – B

Matthew Case Kirkland - L and CL

Thomas Dalby Tadcaster – B

William Dobson Beathwaite green – B

John Edgar Kendal – L and CL

Thomas Farrer Hutton i'-th'-hay – B

John Fisher London – B

Anthony Grigg Levens – B

Abraham Garnett Milnthorpe – B

Christopher Garnett Helsington – L and B

James Garnett ditto [freeholders oath taken] – B

George Gibson Beathwaite Green - B

James Harrison ditto - B

Robert Harrison Low Levens – L and CL

Thomas Heelis Esq Kendal – B

John Hutton Beathwaite Green - L and CL

George Kilner ditto – L and CL

George Lamb ditto – B

John Mackreth Brigsteer – B

Roger Moser Kendal – L and CL

Robert Phillipson Beathwaite Green – B

John Powley Lyth – B

William Powley ditto – B

George Penny Beathwaite Green – B

Christopher Phillipson ditto – B

Miles Simpson ditto – L and B

Robert Swainson Brigsteer – B

Edward Suart Leasgill - B

Thomas Stainton Levens - B

James Shuttleworth Leasgill - B

William Simpson Lyth [freeholders oath taken] – L and CL

William Teasdale Sedgwick – B

Thomas Taylor Beathwaite Green – B

James Thompson Levens – B

William Taylor Sizergh fell Side – B

Richard Taylor Beathwaite Green – L and B

John Todd Levens [freeholders oath taken] – B

William Towers, jun Lake Bank – L and CL

John Wilson Beathwaite Green – B

Stephen Washington ditto – B

Stephen Washington, jun ditto – L and B

Stephen Wilkinson ditto – B

John Winskill Levens – L and CL

John Wilson, jun Beathwaite Green – L and B

Henry Walker Portsmouth – L and CL

Thomas Wilson Milnthorpe – CL

Henry Watson Beathwaite Green – B

Edward Stanup Walker Manchester – L and CL

Richard Walker Cartmell Fell – CL

Thomas Wilkinson Hinning – L and CL

In Preston Richard, Crooklands, End Moor and Milton

Bryan Holme Levens – L and CL

In Underbarrow, Bradley Field and Nook

Richard Thompson Sizergh Fell Side – B

Under 'Account of the votes remaining undecided by the assessor at the close of the poll'

Thomas Benson Levens – B

Nicholas Gibson Beathwaite Green - B